12 December 2014

So during the weekend, my housemate and I took a one day trip to York by bus.

First place we visited was the Railway Museum.

Look cool with real old station setting

Look cool with real old station setting

York Minster. It’s a beautiful minster. The chimes were ringing when I was there. Super🙂 If you want to look inside, check the schedule first.

What? Yeah, I wish I could get rid of the pole and the

What? Yeah, I wish I could get rid of the pole and the “bush” too

The Shambles. It’s a medieval street where you can find cafes. We had lunch at Shambles Kitchen. The space is pretty small, but they serve good food. Try the pulled pork or shawarma.

The Shambles

The Shambles

My shawarma at Shambles Kitchen

My shawarma at Shambles Kitchen

The Monk Bar. I think this was on the Shambles too. They have good home made chocolate. Lots of people buy it for souvenir. I shared a mug of hot chocolate with my housemate. That was not the best ever, but it was Belgian chocolate😀

DSC06244

York Christmas Market – St. Nicholas Fayre. All you need for Christmas? Well… not really. But the fun being in that kind of atmosphere on Christmas time is precious. Have some mulled wine, walk around in this historic city, find something unique to bring home. I found York home made ale which was only for 5 GBP per bottle (around 500ml) and 2 boxes of hand made chocolate.

DSC06259

Those small sheds are the shops

There are more things you can see here. I was walking around traveler style. I didn’t make any research about York. I just knew I was going to Christmas market, see York Minster and have lunch at the Shambles. It turned out to be very relaxing. Got to taste different kinds of chutney and cheese, talked a lot with my housemate, then ended the day with a cup of warm brandy fruit punch.

A view from the bridge

A view from the bridge

Leave a Reply

