November 2014 – January 2015

Lake District is located in Cumbria, north west England. It does have many lakes and is a popular holiday destination in England. If you love nature, stay here longer and explore the whole area. I went to these places I’m going to share you.

Keswick. The first place I visited in Lake District because there’s regular bus from Carlisle, where I lived :D There are interesting things you can see here: St. John Church, Alhembra Cinema (a very old one), Fitz Park (that has the biggest cricket stadium in England?), Packhorse Court (souvenir complex), Pencil Museum (if you love drawing / painting, you’ll find awesome stuff here), Theater by The Lake, etc. You can take a picture of the map on the bus station or get a map for 2 GBP. I chased some sheep at Crow Park. They ran away too fast while I was busy avoiding their poo.

DSC06059

DSC06006

DSC06001

It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!!

It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!!

St. John Church from the back. Most of old churches here have graveyards. Creepy yet still stunning...

St. John Church from the back. Most of old churches here have graveyards. Creepy yet still stunning…

Kendal. I have a friend there so I went visit her. I stopped at Oxenholme station as it’s closer to her house, but we took bus that only comes every hour. We had breakfast at Brew Brothers, then went shopping for our baking afternoon. Then we watched movie at Brewery Arts Center. I didn’t get to see around so much, but I saw a castle ruin which my friend said belonged to the last wife of King Henry IV, the only wife he didn’t kill. King Henry IV was the pioneer of the Anglican church. Sounds cliche huh… killing his wives vs church founder. Never mind. That was history. Do you know Peter Rabit? You can visit the museum too. Kendal is the hometown of Peter Rabit. Another famous thing from there is Kendal Mint Cake.

The main road

The main road

My egg benedict at Brew Brothers

My yummy egg benedict at Brew Brothers

Aira Force. My office-mate, who regularly goes to Lake District on weekends drove me and my housemate here and the other places below. There is a really nice hiking trail and waterfalls in Aira Force. It’s also famous with the red squirrels. I was hungry and ate ice cream. That was good, just made my friends amazed that I ate something cold while they’re having hot tea.

20150127_110113

a view from above

A view from above. I think that lake is Ullswater

My housemate walking on the trail

My housemate walking on the trail

Going through the old bridge to see a waterfall

Going through the old bridge to see a waterfall

20150127_113105

Hello, gorgeous!

Ambleside. We had lunch at The Apple Pie. We saw the very famous bridge house (a national thrust).

The main road

The main road

My

My “jacket potato” at The Apple Pie

Bridge House (front)

Bridge House (front)

Bridge House (side)

Bridge House (side)

Grasmere. There are quite a lot of nice lodging house here. It’s quiet and relaxing. We visited Wordsworth Daffodil Garden, which is just next to Sarah Nelson’s Grasmere ginger bread shop. There I also saw snowdrops for the very first time (probably). I bent as low as I could to see how it looks like from below.

Retro!

Retro? Nope, it’s original!

DSC06691

Inside you will see people’s names that donated for this garden. You can have your name carved there too if you donate😀

DSC06673

snowdrops from below

snowdrops from below

Leave a Reply

