General info * Kawaguchiko * Kyoto Iga Osaka

Day 1: 8 April 2013

Arrived in Haneda airport Tokyo at 22.50, I tried to catch the train to Musashi Koganei. I got suica card from my brother so after passing the immigration, I ran to the subway station. A friendly staff near the machine helped me reloading suica. The subway lines are complicated, so I asked people over and over. A Korean gave me a half of his Tokyo subway map, some Japanese people guided me till I arrived in Musashi Koganei station. One of them even called my host, Matthew, but he didn’t pick up.

Finally I tried to find Matthew’s apartment. It was so late and freezing, but lucky because I met a Japanese young lady in her bicycle. She stopped, checked out her mobile GPS, and walked with me to the apartment! I knew I’d love Japan.

Day 2: 9 April 2013

My friend, Aiko, and I met at Musashi Koganei station and started our adventure in Tokyo.

Bus Tour

We went to Tokyo Station. We would discover the famous places around Tokyo with Hato Bus. While waiting for my bus, we took pictures of the European style building Tokyo Station. Then we walked a bit to Edo castle. Lucky, we found blooming Sakura trees!

Sakura in Edo castle

Sakura in Edo castle

Akihabara

334196682019Akihabara is like heaven for the otaku. If you have particular hobbies like collecting figures from anime and manga, playing games, or a fan of Japanese girls band AKB48… then you’re home!

Maybe it’s the idea of @home cafe 6th floor we visited. I think it’s a good maid cafe. But you can’t take any pictures inside the cafe. You can play and take a picture with a maid if you buy moe moe drink package. Akihabara is also famous with the gadget stores. I’m a light gadget freak, so I decided avoiding my “demonic” gadget shopping desire.

Well, I hoped to meet Hatsune Miku, but I didn’t know where they hide her.

Asakusa

We rented kimono at Meeko-meeko and walked around Asakusa. You will find the famous gate: Kaminarimon, Nakamise shopping street , and Sensoji temple. I also had Monjayaki for lunch here. There are some statues and the walk of fame-like Star Plaza.

Sensoji Temple

Sensoji Temple

Nakamise shopping street

Nakamise shopping street

Monjayaki

Monjayaki

Star Plaza

Star Plaza

Tokyo Sky Tree

The queue is veeeery long. You should come early to get a ticket and come back again later. It’s better for you to make reservation online here. You can also buy the very cute special edition of Tokyo Banana here.

Tokyo Sky Tree

Tokyo Sky Tree

Roppongi Hills

We visited the observation deck and the Sky Deck to see wonderful city view of Tokyo during sunset.

After “almost fly” experience on the Sky Deck, we had dinner at Tsurutontan, the famous udon restaurant in Roppongi Hills. The bowl was really big!

Tokyo Tower from the observation deck

Tokyo Tower from the observation deck

Tokyo Tower from the Sky Deck

Tokyo Tower from the Sky Deck

Udon at Tsurontan

Udon at Tsurutontan

Day 3: 10 April 2013

We stopped at Harajuku station to visit Meiji Shrine. There was some women arranging flowers (ikebana) because the next day was the jubilee of the death of the empress. You can also buy ema here to write and hang your wishes. If you want to go shopping, walk a bit to Omotesando Hills (high end stuff) and Takeshita Street (the Harajuku style stuff).

Kiyomasa well in Meiji Garden

Kiyomasa well in Meiji Garden

ema boards in Meiji Shrine

ema boards in Meiji Shrine

Shibuya

Shibuya has the busiest junction in Tokyo. We visit the famous faithful dog, Hachiko, monument and Moyai statue. We had lunch at D47 Shokudo on Shibuya Hikarie. It’s an interesting restaurant that serves menu sets from 47 perfectures of Japan. I ordered the special menu set of Yamaguchi perfecture with beautiful chirashi sushi. I also tasted natto for the first time here. If you want to eat natto directly, pour some salty soy sauce (shoyu) on it. You can mix it with rice as well, but DON’T eat natto after you eat something else. It will taste so bitter. Oh, I bought Sakura Mochi and Mitarashi Dango at Murakami shop (no.20), B2 Floor, still on the same building. Another thing I learned is that Japanese don’t use spoon for soup, they drink (literally) the soup from the bowl.

Hachiko

Hachiko

Mitarashi Dango and Sakura Mochi from Murakami shop

Mitarashi Dango and Sakura Mochi from Murakami shop

my pretty chirashi sushi at D24 Shokudo

my pretty chirashi sushi at D24 Shokudo

natto

natto

Oedo Onsen in the beautiful artificial island Odaiba.

We waited for the bus to Oedo Onsen just in front of Tokyo Teleport station. I was so excited. Aiko asked me if I was OK if I must took my clothes off (I mean, not a single thing left). I didn’t mind at all since almost everyone there were Japanese. Who would stare at me anyways? They have separated onsen for male and female, and a space for relaxing with shops, game booths, and even fortune teller booth where all of you can meet in yukata.

Relaxing room at Oedo Onsen

Relaxing room at Oedo Onsen

Shinjuku

We should have gone to Tokyo Disney Sea, but it was already 6pm, so we went to TMG Building in Shinjuku instead. There are free observation deck, souvenir shops, and tourist information center.

Expenses

8

Reload suica card

5,000

5000

9

Hato bus tour

1,500

12590

 

@home cafe Akihabara

1,600

 

Kimono rental   Asakusa

5,250

 

Wakame senbei

120

 

Japanese hamburger

320

 

Drink (vending   machine)

120

 

Roppongi observatory   & sky deck

2,000

 

Kitsune Udon &   cranberry juice

1,680

10

Kiyomasa well

500

9470

 

Ema board

500

 

Snacks (Daiso)

315

 

Lunch set & nato

1,670

 

Sakura mochi &   dango

280

 

Oedo onsen

1,980

 

Yaki soba (vending   machine)

350

 

Macha soft ice cream

350

 

Japanese socks

525

 

reload suica card

3,000

Links: * General info * Kawaguchiko * Kyoto * Iga * Osaka

Comments
  1. […] * General info * Tokyo * Kawaguchiko * Kyoto * […]

Leave a Reply

